Pride

I’ve had a lovely day as the two shows I’m peripherally and tenuously connected to have absolutely smashed it today. What I’m saying is, I was fantastic, and it was a bloody good laugh.

Stuart Goldsmith: Like I Mean It, 1545 Liquid Annexe, PBH’s Free Fringe

I’m not going to plug this every day, but this show just keeps getting funnier – it’s just a smashing room to be in for an hour. I love seeing how the show changes and develops, but I really love watching the audience totally get it. I do hope you can make it.

Sugar Baby by Alan Harris, 1805 Roundabout @ Summerhall

I’ve been watching this play evolve over the course of a few weeks, from it’s beginnings at Chapter in Cardiff, to it’s home in one of my favourite Edinburgh venues. To say I was impressed, amazed, delighted is to understate the full effect of seeing Alex Griffin-Griffiths playing the role full steam, with lights, music and an enraptured audience.

From the second Marc bounds into the room he’s brilliantly funny and a joy to watch. All right, he’s a bit of a scally, but a loveable one. Through the streets of Cardiff and some particularly troubled times, Marc leads us in an energetic road movie, a gangster thriller, a comedy, a romance… Sugar Baby is so many things, but all of them wonderful.

Now I’ve finally seen this bundle of joy, I can’t recommend it highly enough. Don’t miss it if you’re in Edinburgh.

 

Leave a Reply

